The Purge (Review)

(image courtesy of http://www.dawn.com)

(image courtesy of http://www.dawn.com)

In an America wracked by crime and overcrowded prisons, the government has sanctioned an annual 12-hour period in which any and all criminal activity-including murder-becomes legal. The police can’t be called. Hospitals suspend help. It’s one night when the citizenry regulates itself without thought of punishment. On this night plagued by violence and an epidemic of crime, one family wrestles with the decision of who they will become when a stranger comes knocking. When an intruder breaks into James Sandin’s (Ethan Hawke) gated community during the yearly lockdown, he begins a sequence of events that threatens to tear a family apart. Now, it is up to James, his wife, Mary (Lena Headey), and their kids to make it through the night without turning into the monsters from whom they hide.

The idea of a 12 hour legalized crime period in a world where prisons are over populated, happening once a year is an interesting idea, completely sick and unbelievable but interesting none the less.  The concept alone is enough to wet my taste buds and the need for an original film was enticing me even more, however this is one such film who’s potential is severely squandered.

The characters are all idiots, most of the bad ideas coming from the idiot son, who obviously lives in his idiot mind with his idiot baby drone car.  The only question I have is, “How dumb are you?”  Even for an idiot, are you seriously that stupid that you cannot connect the dots, I mean, you’ve been on this planet for what?  Fifteen years maybe?  Why would you make such a poor decision dude?  Oh my word, you freaking idiot!  Cut your hair, and pluck your eyebrows you hippie!

Now that I am over that, I would like to let you know that I am not going to tell you who stars in it, except Ethan Hawke because he’s the main character.  The film was just so bad and so predictable that I promise you have seen this all before and because I feel it’s not worth your time, I don’t think it’s worth me telling you who else acts in it.

So what else is wrong with this movie?  The motivations are dumb, the decisions are poor, the reactions are expected, the mentalities are retarded, the scares are predictable and the whole execution is just a sad old failure.

OK, so what’s good about the movie?  The trailer………….that’s it.

All you need to make a movie in Hollywood is great marketing and an awesome trailer and watch the sheep flock.  Hollywood bastards…

6 comments on “The Purge (Review)

  1. I very much agree with you here. I remember watching The Purge and felt cheated out of what was in all honesty a brilliant film concept. If you want, and sorry for the blatant advertising, you can look at my review of the film and see what you think.

    http://chronicchronicler.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/the-purge-brilliance-just-out-of-reach/

    I must say I was easier on the mother and the son’s performances but I think I was as harsh as you, and rightly so.

    • no worries about the advertising. At least you apologize for it. There are plenty of people who don’t.

      I’m glad you enjoyed my review although it’s not much of a review I must be honest. The movie is just really not that good, lol.

      I will read your review in a bit :-0

  2. Smart idea, terrible execution. That seems to be happening a lot more frequently with movies nowadays though. So, I guess this one’s just sort of joining in on the trend. Good review.

Share Your Thoughts

