Oblivion Review

Image Courtesy of: (www.impawards.com)

Image Courtesy of: (www.impawards.com)

One of the few remaining drone repairmen assigned to Earth, its surface devastated after decades of war with the alien Scavs, discovers a crashed spacecraft with contents that bring into question everything he believed about the war, and may even put the fate of mankind in his hands.

I didn’t know what to expect when I first saw the trailer for Oblivion.  Actually even after I saw the film I wasn’t sure what I had been expecting to see compared to what I actually got.

I guess I, in some weird way thought that this would be a movie about a guy who is essentially the last true human of earth who remembers what it was like before all the bullshit happened and how he restores hope to other humans scattered every where else.  Boy, was I way off base…

Instead what I saw, was a guy named Jack who is played by Tom Cruise and is one of the last humans on earth who repairs these robot guard things, all day and every day, against these invaders.  He works with this other woman who is just as easily forgettable and they both report to a woman who is seriously over friendly with a southern accent that it’s kind of obvious that something is really wrong with this picture.

I’m not to going ruin this movie for you by telling you the strangest things in it, or how some parts just made no god damn sense, see it for yourself.

But I would advise to take some LSD with you because the guy who wrote this must have been high as hell or on a whole other level of thinking, because I’m still trying to understand what the hell I watched.  One saving grace was having Morgan Freeman appear out of nowhere but unfortunately his presence alone wasn’t enough to win me over in the end.

I honestly found it really boring and drawn out, the type of film that you really have to be in the mood for.  Hell, you might enjoy it so don’t let this review throw you off.

Maybe you guys are just smarter than me, so you’ll be able to catch on quick.

5 comments on “Oblivion Review

  1. You summed it up in one word: boring. I think this is one of those unfortunate and all to common cases of form over function in movies. It was so pretty and the filmmakers obviously put a lot of effort into the visuals, but the story was really middling. They didn’t give us enough reason to care to Jack and his strange situation; and the Morgan Freeman subplot just felt thrown together.

Share Your Thoughts

