Star Trek Into Darkness Review

star-trek-into-darkness-teaser-poster1-610x903

When the crew of the Enterprise is called back home, they find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization has detonated the fleet and everything it stands for, leaving our world in a state of crisis. With a personal score to settle, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction. As our heroes are propelled into an epic chess game of life and death, love will be challenged, friendships will be torn apart, and sacrifices must be made for the only family Kirk has left: his crew.

WARNING:   SPOILERS

I’ve never really been a “Trekfan but i watched the first of the rebooted series and i didn’t dislike it but i thought the story was underdeveloped.

Star Trek Into Darkness follows the same path but manages to exceed the the amount of absolute bullshit and stale story and direction in general to a whole new level and oh so many lens flares.

I found the characters to be incredibly boring and one dimensional and the drama is short lived by the very fact that nobody really has anything to loose.  There’s no real tension or impending doom and the main villain had such a short amount of screen time that whatever he did just seemed to be because he could.  Maybe I missed something important during a conversation but then in my defense the script was so bland that it was nearly impossible to follow.

Also there was a scene where the admirals daughter was for some weird reason in her underwear, not for long mind you, and while it was a nice change to be interested for at least five seconds i don’t think it was necessary to have her all of sudden stripped to her lingerie.  What did that have to do with anything?  Was their a love story there?  I honestly didn’t pick up on one.

They had so many moments for character relationships to develop but it was completely squandered by “all of sudden!” moments and then nothing gets finished.

But on the positive side the visuals were really good.  There is a scene where Kirk and Khan have to jump from one ship to another through a debris of junk in space.  That whole scene was brilliant in look and style.  Really awesome stuff.  The other was Spock giving a speech on why he chooses not to feel but that it doesn’t mean that he doesn’t care.  I really liked the fact that he was expressing himself in a way that wasn’t robotic.  Benedict Cumberbatch was really impressive as Khan.  It must be the voice or something.  Ever since Loki i think villains are way cooler when they are skinny with an English accent.

This is what makes me question J.J.Abrams ability to direct Star Wars Episode VII.  I’ve never really enjoyed anything that he’s directed and i worry based on all his films specifically Star Trek Into Darkness, if Star Wars will be able to retain its magic.

Here’s hoping

24 comments on “Star Trek Into Darkness Review

  1. I think the movie was fun and action packed, something you so called “fans” is very alien to. I think he’ll do an AMAZING job with Star Wars so why don’t you go out and get a better job, and reevaluate this movie, it was great stupid idiot (sorry I often lose my shit ever since that weekend update on SNL with zach quinto and Chris pine, now I’m searching online like clockwork to see people’s criticism of the new movies to the point where they’re angry that it got critical praise and breathed new life to a dead franchise)

    • Hey thanks for the comment. As i stated at the beginning of this article I’ve never been a Trek fan. I enjoyed somethings of the series and earlier films. Same goes for Star Wars. I’m not a die hard fan but i enjoyed them. As a film in general I did not like it. If you did that’s great and I’m happy you enjoyed it, however i found faults with it and don’t particularly like JJ’s way of directing but I am still willing to give Star Wars a chance.

      • If it wasn’t for that one weekend update skit, I wouldn’t be searching for stuff like this, now I have to feel the guilt of insulting you in the heat of the moment

      • i wish there was a way of saying the message “jj saved star trek DEAL WITH IT!! and if you dont like it TOUGH!!

  2. I’m not sure why it wasn’t allowing me to reply to your comment, but i think you just answered your own question their Daniel. Everybody is entitled to their opinion, but don’t be one of those guys that gets upset when someone doesn’t have the same opinion as you

    • the thing is some people are such dicks about it. (i’m not saying you are) like only stupid sheepish people like it because most of the world are idiots. its like ARE YOU KIDDING ME!? that doesnt make them seem any more intelligent

      • Unfortunately people being dicks comes with the price of the internet. The anonymity that the internet gives people leads them to become (in my experience) monsters saying what they want, at the same time deriving to personal insults if they don’t agree with someone else. I deal with that kind of stuff by letting it go and laughing about it but most of all not getting involved in any of the debates especially if you know the guys going to be a dick about it. If you think about it, is it really worth your time?

    • The Star Wars prequels are criticized for their lack of action and the Star Trek reboots are criticized for (apparently) too much action. It’s like MAKE UP YOUR DAMN MINDS THE FRANCHISE IS ALIVE AND WELL! Is the sci do genre really that cursed to a life of endless debate and discussion. Why am I even a fan what’s the point? People will just criticize stuff till the end of time an if that’s the case. So be it. Christ I wish being a fan was easier. Dealing with people bull**** everyday. I’m worried what people will say next. Why do I bother I’m gonna watch criterion collection movies. I just don’t get the understanding of the ones with age and experience (yes it is ironic that I’m the only one whos ever commented on this article and I’m seeking therapy of sorts on a website called gamers therapy)

  3. Hey, being a while. Being a fan of something doesn’t mean you going get something out. If you are going to metaphorically bash your head against a wall every time you read something negative about star trek, then you are always going to be wound up to tight. You’ve said what you wanted to say. Isn’t it enough that you really loved the films? Who cares what anybody else thinks. Why are you taking this to such an extreme?

  4. The skit was written around Trekkies reacting to it not being their Athens Star Trek leading Chris and zach on the show. And now here I am today I feel like a mental case whos losing his mind. It was a harsh taste of reality is what I’m trying to say, you can watch the video type in ‘Chris pine Zachary quinto weekend update’ or don’t I don’t really care

      • Im just saying, I like a good action movie THIS WAS ONE OF THEM. Nothing wrong with that. Ok so you found some problems hooray for you! I just want to tell people THE FANCHISE IS ALIVE AND WELL AND JJ SAVED THE FRANCHISE DEAL WITH IT AND IF YOU DON’T LIKE IT TOUGH!! I’m just a normal guy who likes what I think are good movies. And I’m trying to say why I don’t think you’re a bad guy. I Just disagree with your review I thought it was well acted well directed an action packed. What’s so hard to accept? IT HAS F***ING BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH FOR CHRISTS SAKE!

      • I meant no disrespect by the nuts comment. It was meant to be a little more sarcastic. Thanks for letting me know that I’m not a bad guy and thanks for respecting my opinion on the movie itself. That’s how we all can get along. Again though you are going to to get negative opinions especially if you’re going out looking for it and trying to get people to accept your opinion. Some trekkie fans don’t feel the way you do about this film. And that’s ok because we’re human and opinions are going to differ.

  5. one thing people love to complain about this movie is the underwear scene. Why is it so bad? how should it ruin a movie? what harm could it have possibly caused? why not complain about more important stuff but nooooooo. theres an underwear scene to complain about because stupid virgins are reminded that they wont get laid

Share Your Thoughts

