Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 1) – Platinum

Batman-Arkham-City

With the upcoming release of Batman:  Arkham Origins just two months away I felt the need to complete Arkham Asylum and Arkham City to 100% in order to obtain the trophy that only the most hard core of collectors and die-hard fans wish to achieve…the platinum trophy.  To undertake this task is not for the faint of heart in the slightest.  It is tedious, grinding work, but totally achievable through preservation and patience.  You only have to do like a million things and some of the things are actually relatively easy and come along with playing through the main story….nah I’m just kidding it can be seriously challenging!

The easy things are like “knock out 5 thugs with a power glide attack” and so on.  The biggest challenge the player has is completing the combat and predator maps.  Combat maps are not so tough but the predator maps…ohhh boy, was that frustratingly annoying.

Batman Arkham City Combat MapsCombat Maps – You just have to fight a group of thugs and earn huge points by stringing together your combo’s and using a variation of your fighting skills including gadgets, keeping the free flow going until the end of the rounds and not taking any damage.  “Nuff said” and easy enough with a bit of patience, but the plus side is that that the combat maps are fun because well “You’re Batman” and kicking the crap out of people is always a pleasure especially after having a grueling day at work.  And then there’s the…

Batman Arkham City Predator

Predator Maps – Just saying it out loud tires me out.  The concept is actually quite simple.  You need to earn three medals in each map.  The medals are given out by completing a certain objective like “when using a silent take down use knock out smash”.  Also easy enough except it’s not.  To complete these maps you need the world of patience, strategy and at times especially with the extreme maps a lot of luck.  The challenge doesn’t just end there.  You then have to do it all over again in the Campaign Mode where you have a combination of Predator and Combat maps and only have three chances to get it right.

As you progress through these maps the challenges obviously get harder and there were times where I thought I was going to throw my ps3 controller through my TV.  Every time I failed a mission The Riddler would appear and the one line that always  grinds me is, “Well, Well, so the shaved monkey has failed.  How utterly, utterly expected.”

Always makes me want to punch him.

It’s amazing that a game that I love could piss me off so much but at the same time bring me back to try again and do better.  Then I had to complete the game on a mode called New Game + which becomes available after you complete the campaign the first time around.  In new game plus any upgrades that you made to Batman during the first play-through will  be available at the start of the game and the enemies will be tougher, faster and won’t display a “counter icon” above their heads when they’re about to attack you.  It wasn’t hard to complete though.  I was able to do it all again in eight hours.  Not a bad work day if you ask me.  You need to complete all the side missions in both play-throughs in order to get that delicious platinum.

After spending three days straight over the long weekend, and sleepless nights, I was finally at the finish line.  I completed my final side quest, which was to visit Calendar Man every public holiday in the states.  I did use the easy way to get this and the easy way takes about forty five minutes and I know some of you might be disappointed in the fact that I did this but I needed that platinum for some reason.  Disconnecting from the internet and changing the system date worked wonders.  No corruption or anything!
Calendar_Man-characterAnd after all that a distinct sound was heard.  “PING”  “You have unlocked Platinum” and the notification disappeared and I had been left alone again with Calendar Man, just staring at him.  My first thought was “Oh shit, yes I actually got it!” Followed shortly after by “Was that really worth it?”

In a way yes it was because I think that when you earn a platinum trophy it shows commitment to a developer.  It says,” You made a good game and I enjoyed grinding my teeth to complete it”.  There’s also the encouragement to get you to try new things and play the game a different way.  After playing all those predator maps as Batman and then playing the campaign again i can safely say that I am the Dark Knight .  Obviously other people just collect trophies for the challenge, or to up their level and rank.  I found it a lot deeper than that.

The problem comes in though when you want to tell someone who isn’t that much of the gaming world what you went through to accomplish this daunting task and they just stare you and you notice their eyes kind of gloss over.

After going through all that I checked my trophy stats and decided to carry on going.  I may have earned my platinum but I’m only sitting on 87% completion according to the trophies.  I still have to complete all the DLC as well and redo the challenge maps with Catwoman (Which I am currently doing), Nightwing and Robin.

This is probably the most grinding thing I have ever done or am willing to do, and why?

Well that’s easy…… I’m a gamer.

5 comments on “Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 1) – Platinum

  1. Pingback: Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 2) – Campaign Kitty | Gamers Therapy

  2. Pingback: Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 3) – Campaign Wonder | Gamers Therapy

  3. Pingback: Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 4) – Campaign Nightwing | Gamers Therapy

  4. Pingback: Batman Arkham City: A Journey (Part 5) – Harley Quinn’s Revenge | Gamers Therapy

  5. Pingback: Gamers Therapy: A Quick Update | Gamers Therapy

Share Your Thoughts

