Kickstarter: Community Blessing or Curse?

English: Wordmark of gas powered games

English: Wordmark of gas powered games (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m sure you all have heard about Kickstarter.  For those who haven’t Kickstarter is an online site where hard working individuals or even bigger companies present their ideas, goals and projects but don’t have capital to see it through.  With the use of Kickstarter, the community (being me and you) can help fund their projects, goals, ideas by donating a bit of cash to them.  Sounds great right?  Right?

Having read yesterday about the sad news about Gas Powered Games “…massive layoffs…” from Gamer Crash and then reading that it looked like the community was donating  money to try and keep the company alive, it got me thinking.

(read the full article of Gas Powered Games at Gamer Crash here)

(Kickstarter Campaign for Wildman) check out Gas Powered Games Kickstarter Project

If the public is donating money to any developers ideas, that technically should be our game.  We should be able to make decisions on what goes in and out, what technology to use.  What kind of control scheme we would like and maybe to be a tester.  How much better would a game be if actual fans of the game were able to test it before release and then present their findings to the studios.  Granted there are studios that do release some Beta testing but we don’t  really have much of say except maybe to report a few bugs and glitches.

Don’t you think the public would be slightly peeved off if they’ve funded a project and then the studio makes a game but not in line with what the “donators” expected.  I would be slightly upset.

What do you think?

4 comments on “Kickstarter: Community Blessing or Curse?

  1. Hey Thanks for the shout out!

    Yeah, it’s certainly an interesting topic for sure and one that has never really dawned on me. I guess there’s an unwritten understanding between backers and the developers based on what is listed but your right, I don’t think there’s anything that says specifically “what you see is what you get” once the project is funded. I have no doubts that the community would be upset if the game wasn’t what was promised, but you can be sure that from a PR standpoint, that company would take a massive hit.

  2. Appreciate the comment. After creating a new blog for myself I’m trying to get my views backup. The comment does help.

    It might take one company to be severely hit for other developers to know that the public won’t accept it. I really am hoping that that doesn’t happen though.

    Kickstarter is fantastic crutch if used appropriately.

  3. When I back a project on Kickstarter, I expect a tangible reward in a reasonable amount of time. I’ve also donated to a couple things on indiegogo and received nothing in return, the difference being that they still get your money when funding is not successful.

    Interesting point that the crowd should have some say in the product they are investing in. I usually don’t buy in to a campaign if I don’t see good progress already or accolades to back the creator, but if there was a way for me to influence the project, I might be more willing.

  4. hey Jay,

    thanks for the comment. i understand completely. I don’t think any of the “A-lister” studios will ever let people like us heavily influence any project of theirs but what if we could with the Ouya??

Share Your Thoughts

