Back to the Future – The Game

I love the feeling of nostalgia and I am swamped in it immensely at this particular moment.  I’ve just completed the Back to the Future game that was developed by Telltale Games and all I want to do right now is watch the movies again.  My God, even while I’m writing this I have the theme song playing in my head which goes to show what an impact the game had on me and yes it probably is because I’m a fan but that’s besides the point.

The game kicks off a few months after the third film.  Doc’s house and lab are getting sold off by the bank.  Obviously, cherishing his memories of his friend Marty goes to Doc’s place to find some things to remember him by.  (I’m not going to mention details of the story) He comes across Doc’s notebook with all of his crazy inventions and notes and such when suddenly those three very familiar sonic booms echo in his ears.  A DeLorean has appeared outside.  Marty investigates the DeLorean and finds a tape cassette with a recording of Doc telling him that the time machine was set to return to Marty if Doc ended up in trouble.

AND THE ADVENTURE BEGINS…

This was a fantastic way to continue the adventures of Marty and Doc and i have to say that TellTales pulled it off.  The game does start off kind of slow but by episode three it really picks up momentum and before i knew it I was like a kid watching the movies again.  I had to see what would happen next.  They’ve kept the characters true to their roots and on more than one occasion i got goosebumps at the heart warming moments and there a few of the them.  The voice acting was solid from Christoper Lloyd reprising his role of Dr. Emmett Brown and A.J Locasio playing the lead as Marty.  While I did notice that it wasn’t Michael. J. Fox’s voice in the beginning of the game I was pleasantly surprised at the end when I heard M.J’s voice.  🙂 While the 1930’s to me are a little bit “bleh” it does grow on you especially seeing Doc as a young teenager wrestling with what he wants to do in his life at the same time trying to get out of his Dad’s shadow.

This is strictly a point-click puzzle game although you can use the keyboard to control your character which I honestly preferred.  The puzzles in the game aren’t necessarily difficult to solve but there a few that might make you stop and think for a bit.  You interact with multiple characters through out the game by way of a dialogue tree.  I found myself clicking on everything that i wanted to say because all the characters in the game seem to have a bit of depth to them.  The controls aren’t the greatest and i did find that all characters were very “Limpywith regards to movement but it didn’t take to much away from the overall experience.

This was a great game for me personally because i grew up watching and re-watching all the movies and having a chance to go on this adventure was like traveling back to my childhood and reliving those moments all over again.  I’m a big fan of M.J Fox for all that he has accomplished and all that he’s had to go through and it was because of this movie that i became obsessed with the possibility of time travel.

So thanks to TellTales for doing a remarkable job and allowing me to be a child again for one glorious day.

Sorry had to add my favorite quote from the first film

Doc:     “One point twenty one jigawatts!?  One point twenty one jigawatts!?  Great Scott!”

Marty:  “What…what the hell is a jigawatt?!”

 

 

Share Your Thoughts

