Far Cry 3

Far Cry 3 is nearly here fans; just hang on for another few months.  Developed by Ubisoft Montreal, Ubisoft Massive, Ubisoft Reflections and Ubisoft shanghai, Far Cry 3 is said to be bigger, better, bolder and even larger than before.  Sporting the Dunia 2 engine, I must say the visuals look beautiful.  At one point I wanted to lick my beautiful 42 inch LCD TV.

Returning to its tropical roots Far Cry 3 sees new protagonist Jason Brody stranded on Islands somewhere between the Indian and Pacific oceans, fighting for survival, looking for his girlfriend and trying to escape from the crazies that inhabit the islands.  Yes I said islands, because apparently there is more than one island to escape from.  Jason’s character was originally supposed to be a man with an extraordinary skill set and a natural survivalist that gets thrown into the violent conflict on the islands but it seems they have mixed it up a bit making him a man out of his comfort zone, thrown into chaos quiet coincidentally while he searches for his friends.  Judging from the poster of Vaas himself, a Mohawk hair-style, wielding dual pistols, a severed head in the sand and the look of a hungry Hannibal Lecter in his eyes says you’re going to be hunted.

Far Cry 3 sticks to its huge open world formula allowing players complete free reign to form their strategy and execute deadly assaults.  Ubisoft has also introduced a new stealth takedown mechanic in which you can silently take an enemy down from a crouch position or by performing melee attacks from above.  In addition to the new stealth mechanic Ubisoft has also introduced a leveling system based on experience points.

The sandbox editor also makes a return (as we all knew it would) except it’s bigger and better.

To be honest I haven’t finished any of the Far Cry games.  When I was playing Far Cry 1 I got stuck trying to flank some enemies and every time I died I would be brought back to a check point that was on the other side of the beach and had to walk or swim all the way back again.  I didn’t have the patience to do it more than seven times.

I enjoyed the second game a lot more mostly because of the South African voices of the thugs threatening me in Afrikaans.  I would deliberately come out of cover just to hear them speak to each other. I never completed it though because it started to fell repetitive, taking long ass drives on dirt roads, fighting through roadblocks, getting my pills, and then a new mission.  It felt empty to me after a while.

But then why would I enjoy Far Cry 3?  Simple, I’ve stated before that I love any game with a decent story or with character development in it and according to Ubisoft we’ll get to see how the Island starts affecting Jason’s personality as you progress through the story and that’s all I need to spark my curiosity.

Far Cry 3 has three different editions available:

Players who pre-order Far Cry 3 will receive The Lost Expeditions Edition of the game. It contains two exclusive missions not available in the regular version. These missions, “The Forgotten Experiment” and “Ignition in the Deep”, offer 40 minutes of additional playtime, plus a Type 10 Japanese World War 2 flare gun for use in the game’s multiplayer modes.

Players in America who pre-order Far Cry 3 from Gamestop will receive The Monkey Business bonus pack. It includes four more missions “hosted by Hurk and his bomb-carrying monkeys.” and “two bonus ways to humiliate your friends” in multiplayer.

Players who order The Insane Edition will receive a survival kit, an Island Survival Guide, an Insane Vaas Wahine and The Monkey Business bonus pack.

Due Date:       4 September 2012 (North America)

                         6 September 2012 (Europe)

 

Platforms:       PC, Xbox 360, PS3

2 comments on “Far Cry 3

  1. As far as I know… and I am pretty sure… the guy on the cover isnt the protagonist but rather the antagonist called, Vaas. Judging from the trailer though, I would actually suspect the guy buried up to his neck in sand is the protagonist. But yeah! Cant wait for the game and I enjoyed the Afrikaans accents as well. “Glimlag sodat ek jou tande vlenters kan skiet” Lol’d everytime.

    • hey thanks dude, thanks for the correction there. I’m glad I’m not the only one who giggled at that. I thought i was a alone in the world lol

Share Your Thoughts

